Trying something new and a Sunday Dump and Power Animals



It’s no secret that while I love WordPress, their Android App leaves much to be desired, so I’m trying something different. We’ll see how it goes.

So far, I like that I can add colored text, but we’ll see if that stays when I publish. I don’t like that I don’t see a way to schedule posts…hmmm.

So, Mini-Me has been home a week (just over), and so far, things are going mostly okay. There have been a few bump-ups, which I was expecting, but so far, they haven’t been completely horrible.

Her and Draco seem to be repairing some of the damage Mini-Me has done to their relationship, and although they still sometimes bicker, they’re also laughing and spending time together again, which does my heart good.

Last night, I did something I rarely do. I got a little drunk.

There is a reason this is rare. I tend to say what’s on my mind even more under the influence of alcohol than normal (I don’t have a very good filter for what I should and shouldn’t say under the best circumstances).

Anyway, Draco is an artist, and Mini-Me is an aspiring one, and she has been asking Draco to do a particular drawning for her for a while. He says he will, but he’s also the king of procrastination and never gets around to it. (He’s been reading-which is new- and playing Assasian’s Creed in all his free time.)

Yesterday was another promised dead-line missed and she got upset. after their “talk”, Draco and I went outside and I told him what I thought. Quite bluntly.

We didn’t argue because Draco heard the truth in what I said, but I know it could have been handled better had I not been drinking.

In other news, my Saturday trip to the library has yielded some interesting results. I picked up a book on Shamanism and Power Animals and have gotten almost half-way through it. It has somewhat changed my definitions on totem animals and I realized my Power Animal is not what I would have thought, but that is what I should have thought.

Let me explain.

Given the explination in the book, there are a number of ways to figure out if you already have a Power Animal, including some questions you can ask. Wanting an unbiased opinion, I asked Draco what he thought. His answer left me shaking my head at first, but as he explained his reasonings, I began to see it.

Left to my own assumptions, I would have automatically said the Wolf and been done. They have always fascinated me and I felt my first kinship with it when I was a child. Asked for a different answer and I would have claimed the Raven. I have an adult kinship with them, they are sacred to the Goddess Hecate, and I have felt drawn to Her service since my mother passed. The Ravens have been calling and watching since she became ill (at least more noticably). I could have also said Owl, which have followed me through my entire adult life.

Draco said none of these things. Draco said, “the Tiger”.

I’m sure I looked at him with a confused expression. I know I felt confused.

But as he explained, I thought. I have white tiger figures packed in storage that haven’t seen daylight in years. The one animal I have tattooed on my body is a white tiger on my right shoulder. I also have this:

and this:

on my phone.

Why wouldn’t I think Tiger?

So, I spent most of the morning reading about Tigers as Totems and Power Animals and I realize that it makes sense.

I’m working on a series of posts about my Power Animal and my Spirit Animals (wolf, owl, raven) and how they have effected my life, but that will have to wait until I finish them.

For now, I am wishing my tigers were not packed up nearly 3 hours away and I intend to do some intentional dreaming tonight and communicate with the spirit of the Tiger and see if he will offer me any insight.

Blessed Be,

About Raven Moon @ PoM

I've been with the love of my life for 16 years and have two grown daughters. I blog about my life and my journey with Paganism.

Posted on December 30, 2012, in blogging. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave me some love...

Light Bulb Moments Narrative Reasoning

A Dyslexic mind making life feel better

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

Hearthwitch Cottage

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

In The Arms of Mother Earth

Sharing Her Lessons

A Witchy Life

All about Paganism and being Pagan

This Pagan House

Autumn 2013

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Pagan & the Pen ~ An Online Magazine!

Eclectic Articles, Columns & More! Check out our COLUMNS below! Want More? Hit Categories. Articles Posted Regularly!

Letters for Michael

Lessons on being gay, of love, life and lots of it

Writing A Silver Broomstick

A Little writing, a little witchery...nothing like it!

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

Witchery Grove Studio

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

Witch Mom

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

True Tiger Recordings

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

thepurplebroom

Witchcraft. Poetry. Art.

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

Pagan Book Reviews

Book reviews from a pagan bibliophiliac

Witchschool's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Light Bulb Moments Narrative Reasoning

A Dyslexic mind making life feel better

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

Hearthwitch Cottage

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

In The Arms of Mother Earth

Sharing Her Lessons

A Witchy Life

All about Paganism and being Pagan

This Pagan House

Autumn 2013

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

The Pagan & the Pen ~ An Online Magazine!

Eclectic Articles, Columns & More! Check out our COLUMNS below! Want More? Hit Categories. Articles Posted Regularly!

Letters for Michael

Lessons on being gay, of love, life and lots of it

Writing A Silver Broomstick

A Little writing, a little witchery...nothing like it!

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

Witchery Grove Studio

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

Witch Mom

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

True Tiger Recordings

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

thepurplebroom

Witchcraft. Poetry. Art.

My magical journey through life, love and the pursuit of happiness

Pagan Book Reviews

Book reviews from a pagan bibliophiliac

Witchschool's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

